Tarot has four suits, which make up the minor arcana.

These suits are:

  • Wands
  • Swords
  • Cups
  • Pentacles

Each of these suits relates to an element and an energy type, and understanding more about these can bring so much meaning and understanding to the events that occur around us.

The minor arcana describes the subtle forces that move through our everyday lives. These affect us through our environment, our relationships and the circumstances you face on a daily basis.

Usually, the influences that the minor arcana describe is fleeting, yet they’re here to teach us valuable lessons and pave the way toward greater self-awareness.

PinWhat is the Meaning of the Suit Of Cups?

Quick Reference:

Element: Water
Astrological Zodiac Signs: Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces
Playing Card: Hearts
Other Names: Chalices

Associated with water, the suit of cups represents the emotions and intuition. These Tarot card meanings tend to bring the focus onto the feeling aspects of consciousness. They refer to love, relationships, intimate connections, and intuition.

Like the element of water, the insight that this suit brings to the Tarot is flowing and changeable and can refer to healing and purification.

The cups cards are generally considered to be feminine, and can also refer to intuition, dreams, receptivity and the subconscious realms.

What Does it Mean if the Suit of Cups Shows up in a Tarot Reading?

When these cards appear for you in a tarot reading, it usually indicates where you are tapping into your heart above the logic of your mind. OR if you’re not, then you’re being called to listen to your intuition! The level of meaning (and the solution you should be seeking) likely lands in the feeling realms.

The astrological correspondences of this Tarot suit may also indicate situations involving people who are Water Signs. Using strategies that are emotionally driven, creative and driven by a desire to connect could greatly help work through whatever is being described.

Suit of Cups Negative Aspects

When negative traits or meanings are represented in Tarot, by these cards, they usually involve being overemotional, or on the other hand, lacking in emotion, or having difficulty expressing emotion.

A Super-Quick Guide to Individual Card Meanings

Ace of Cups

Upright: Fullness of life, intuition, self-trust, joy, happiness.
Reversed: Emptiness, lack of satisfaction, a creative block.

Two of Cups

Upright: A strong partnership, pairing, connection, respect, unity.
Reversed: Imbalance, discord, disconnection, negativity, opposing forces.

Three of Cups

Upright: Happiness, celebration, friendship, being reunited with friends.
Reversed: Withdrawal from friends, unhappiness, broken social circles or friendships.

Four of Cups

Upright: Restlessness, dissatisfaction, stagnation, apathy, being ungrateful.
Reversed: Acceptance, re-connection, a desire to participate in life.

Five of Cups

Upright: Disappointment, despair, missed opportunity, self-pity, regret.
Reversed: Lessons learned, acceptance, renewed resilience, moving on.

Six of Cups

Upright: Childhood joy, nostalgia, connection to the past, comfort, familiarity, memories.
Reversed: Holding onto the past, yearning for childhood, not living in the present, resisting independence.

Seven of Cups

Upright: Fantasy, imagination, wishful thinking, a number of options, temptation.
Reversed: Unwillingness to face reality. OR the end of disillusionment.

Eight of Cups

Upright: Transition, leaving behind the familiar, the need for a higher purpose.
Reversed: Confusion, uncertainty, avoidance of change, fear of change.

Nine of Cups

Upright: Happiness, satisfaction, financial security, abundance, wishes being met.
Reversed: Dissatisfaction, seeking authenticity, quality not quantity.

Ten of Cups

Upright: Emotional fulfillment, joy, peace, all needs being met.
Reversed: Broken bonds, shattered illusions of happiness, distance between family.

Page of Cups

Upright: New ideas, intuitive inspiration, following your dreams, anything is possible!
Reversed: Creative blocks, lack of true inspiration, loss of joy.

Knight of Cups

Upright: Being heart-driven, trusting a creative project.
Reversed: Moodiness, emotional brooding, dishonesty, overwhelm.

Queen of Cups

Upright: Compassion, understanding, intuitive power, emotional wellbeing.
Reversed: Emotional instability, overactive imagination, inauthentic expression.

King of Cups

Upright: Emotional control, balance, self-awareness.
Reversed: Emotional control, manipulation, vindictiveness.