So you know your sun sign. But have you heard astrologers talk about the “Houses”?

If you read your horoscope, the astrological houses usually feature somewhere.

And when the New or Full Moon rises, knowing the house it falls in, will bring a much greater understanding about how it will affect you.

Yet the houses can be a really tricky part of astrology to understand!

The signs and planets are easy to grasp. But because the houses are different from those – and contain something different for everyone – they can be a real source of confusion.

Let’s deal with that right here:

PinWhat are the Astrological Houses?

Like the zodiac, an astrological chart (or birth chart) is split into 12 segments. Each of these segments is called “a House”, beginning with the 1st House on the right (at 9 o clock) and moving around the chart in a counter-clockwise direction until you reach the 12th house.

These are all the same size, and on an astrology chart, they’re usually shown on a small, internal circle and indicated by Roman numerals.

The first 6 houses are known as the personal houses, whilst the last 6 are known as the interpersonal houses.

The 12 houses are also split into quadrants – each containing three houses.

These are the angular, the succedent, and the cadent.

The Angular House

These houses lead, coming first in their quadrants. They’re deemed to be strong and tend to have a forceful effect on the whole chart. Also known as the cardinal houses, they’re associated with the cardinal signs of the Zodiac, which are Aries, Cancer, Libra, and Capricorn.

The Succedent House

These are the central houses in each quadrant. They tend to be stable, fixed, and represent parts of your life you’re content with. They are associated with the fixed signs of Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, and Aquarius.

The Cadent House

These houses are the final ones in each quadrant. Some astrologers associate believe these represent areas of life that may be weaker, or lacking power and force. YEt they’re also representative of change and transition. The cadent houses are associated with the mutable signs of Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, and Pisces.

The houses don’t move.

SO on a chart, they are always in the same position. Yet because the signs move, as do the planets within them, each house will be crossed by one or more signs, and also by planets. And this being the natural world, it’s rarely a neat and exact overlay!

The Houses and what they signify, are described below:

Ascendant or Rising Sign (the 1st House cusp)

The sign that was rising over the horizon at the moment you were born, this is extremely telling. It represents your natural reaction to the world, your self-awareness, how you express yourself, and what you show of yourself to others.

First House

The 1st house is all about the self and self-image. Identity, appearance, attitudes, first impressions, and the body all come under its rulership. The first house is ruled by Aries.

Second House

The 2nd house refers to material surroundings and possessions. Governing the senses, it’s strongly connected to the body and physical well-being, as well as to daily routines, work, money, and personal value. The second house is ruled by Taurus.

Third House

The 3rd house rules the mental faculties. This one is all about communication and connection, leading to relationships with siblings, neighbors, and your experience of early education. The third house is ruled by Gemini.

Fourth House

The 4th house rules home, roots, the foundations of life, and basic security. It can be a place of self-sacrifice, also relating to parenting, and family. The fourth house is ruled by Cancer.

Fifth House

The 5th house relates to love, play, creativity, and also drama. Self-expression and force of will also come under this domain. The fifth house is ruled by Leo.

Sixth House

The 6th house symbolizes health and fitness, work routines, and habits. Also service, systems, and analysis.  The sixth house is ruled by Virgo.

Descendent (the Seventh House cusp):

This zodiacal sign refers to what you “aren’t”. Astrologers use this point to deduce qualities you lack and what you seek – and need – in relationships and partners.

Seventh House

The 7th house refers to relationships, partnerships, and collaboration. It also contains information about how you approach marriage and business contracts. The 7th house is ruled by Libra.

Eighth House

The 8th house provides insight into issues of birth, death, and transformation. It refers to the merging of energies and assets you share with others (and how you manage this). Also to power, money, and intimacy. The eighth house is ruled by Scorpio.

Ninth House

The 9th house brings insight around travel, learning, and higher education. Laws, governance, religion, luck, gambling, morals, and ethics are also all within the rulership of this house. The ninth house is ruled by Sagittarius.

Midheaven (the Tenth House cusp)

This is the most public point of your chart. It relates to your life path, career, reputation, and social standing.

Tenth House

The 10th house contains information relating to how structure, authority, traditions, long-term goals, achievement all play out through your life. It also refers to masculinity and fatherhood, limitations, and boundaries. The tenth house is ruled by Capricorn.

Eleventh House

The 11th house is all about groups, friends, and community. It also relates to social awareness and social justice, as well as inventions and progression, i.e. the future. The eleventh house is ruled by Aquarius.

Twelfth House

The 12th house brings us to finality and endings. Referring to separation, solitude, secretiveness, things which are hidden, the subconscious, spirituality, and creativity. It also sheds light upon institutions, hospitals, and jails. The twelfth house is ruled by Pisces.

How Can Knowing YOUR Houses Help?

Whatever sign of the zodiac, planet, or other significant point is held within a house, that part of your life will be affected. This is true for your natal chart, and for current astrology.

So, if your natal chart reveals you have Virgo in your first house, then it’s highly likely you’re someone who needs your personal appearance (1st house) to be neat and tidy (Virgo) at all times!

Or if your horoscope reveals that Jupiter is currently transiting your seventh house, then it means your relationships (Libra) will be a source of positivity (Jupiter) for you.

The houses are also great when it comes to working with the New and Full Moons – as well as taking into account the sign of the Zodiac they fall in, knowing which personal house it’s going to hit can help you to really target any intentions or release rituals.

Next Steps?

Get a copy of your own birth chart.

This will reveal your natal houses.

It’s really easy to find a free astrological birth chart online. Here are a few of our favorite resources:

Café Astrology
Astro Dienst

Now let us know in the comments below what your personal houses reveal about you. Which house holds the Sun in your chart?